Running Update

image

I’ve had a few messages asking how my running is going.  Well it’s going great. It’s been a little more challenging this last week as the weather has changed, it’s been cold, wet and windy.  However I’ve not stopped running.  I made a promise to myself I’ll never use the weather as an excuse not to run. And in fact I prefer running in the cold to the heat of Summer, I feel like I’m still getting acclimatised to the humidity and heat of the Auckland Summer (I’ve been here 6 years).  And running in the rain is pretty fun too.

I think running is as much a mental activity as a physical one and I realise I lie to myself on most of my runs.

Here are a few of the lies I tell myself while out running.

1. I’m running fast.

2. I look great running.

3. That hill is not that steep

4. I’m going to run up that hill fast, not so slow it looks like I’m not actually moving.

5. I will not get stitch on this run.

There are certain things I just can’t run without:

1. iPhone (for apps and music)

2. Running app (I love to see how fast and far I’ve run)

3. Music, I’m always changing my playlists.  Music is so important to me.  There is no way I’d be able to go for a run without it.

4. My fitbit.

5. Arm strap for iPhone

6. Cap

With regard to my music here is my current playlist:

Geronimo, Sheppard

Outside, Calvin Harris

Let’s Go, Calvin Harris

Dangerous, David Guetta

Start Me Up, The Rolling Stones

Do I Wanna a Know, Arctic Monkeys

Railroad Track, Willy Moon

Spectrum, Florence & The Machine

Sunshine, David Guetta

Lovers on the Sun, David Guetta

Well it’s time for a run now. So I’ll be off.

Sarah x

Leave a Reply

