Salt Dough Handprint Art

Anyone with a toddler or preschooler knows the importance of having a few activities for rainy days up your sleeve.  My absolute favourite is salt dough.  It’s simple to make and my son loves messing around with it.  We recently made handprint art with the dough and the results were great.

image

Recipe

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 1/2 water

Place the flour and the salt in a bowl and add the water a bit at a time while stirring.  Once all the water is added take out and work it for 10 mins.  Then your ready to create.

The key to  great results is in the drying of the dough.  I have seen a lot of recipes that say bake on low in the oven for 3 hrs, however I find it puffs up and loses some of its shape and definition.  My preferred method for drying is to air dry I just pop  them on a chopping board and place on a shelf in the pantry turning them every couple of days.  The only issue with this method is it takes about a week to ten days to dry in my climate.  Once it dries I  painted with acrylic paint.  If you are planning on making hanging decorations make sure you cut the hole for the ribbon or string while dough is still wet.

I  am planning on making Christmas decorations in the next few weeks with salt dough so keep an eye out.

Sarah x

2 thoughts on “Salt Dough Handprint Art

Leave a Reply

