Homemade Cherry Cough Syrup

When I was pregnant I developed a bad cough that lasted 6 weeks.  I paid my doctor a visit and was informed there was little I could take being pregnant.     I  thought I would research for a natural alternative to the shop  brought cough syrups and found a fabulous easy to make cough syrup recipe by James Wong which didn’t look to hard to make and had easily available products.  Don’t you just hate recipes that ask  you for something so obscure you have no idea where to start looking it.

The syrup I made tasted delicious and actually worked to soothe my coughing. Now don’t except a magical cure more of an easing off.

cherry cough

Cherry Cough Syrup

500g (approx.) cherries (leave the stones in), 1 lemon  sliced (see the humble lemon at work again) and 250ml honey

  1. Put all the ingredients in a pan with enough water to cover and simmer gently for about 30 minutes or until the cherries are soft.
  2. Remove from the heat and strain out the solids.
  3. Allow to cool before pouring into a sterilised bottle.

Use: Take 2 tbsp, as required, to soothe coughing.   Storage: Keeps for several days in the fridge.

I’d be interested to hear of any other home remedies for the dreaded cough so please leave a comment.

Sarah x

photo credit: drugfreehomes.org

6 thoughts on “Homemade Cherry Cough Syrup

Leave a comment