When Life Gives You Lemons

When I moved to New Zealand from the UK I was fascinated by all the lemon trees. It seemed to me that everyone had a lemon tree in their garden and I couldn’t wait to get my own, so  off I  trotted to  the garden centre for my tree.

When I started harvesting lemons, I had more than I could cook with, therefore I looked for other uses for a lemon, and wow the humble lemon is amazing just see from the list below.

lemons

7 Uses For A Lemon

  1. Sore Throat?  Add lemon juice to an equal measure of boiling water and gargle to  give your throat an anti bacterial wash.
  2. Microwave Cleaner – slice up  a lemon and add it to  a microwave-safe bowel half filled with water. Cook  on high for 5 minutes, allowing the water to boil, then leave and let the steam work its magic.  Remove the bowel carefully and wipe with a damp cloth.
  3. Freshen Up The Fridge – Cut a lemon in half and leave it in the fridge for a day to absorb fridge smells.
  4. Nail Brightener — half a lemon and rub over your nails.
  5. Lipstick – The ladies of Louis XIV’s court used lemons to redden their lips.
  6. Rubbish Bin – Take the peel of a couple of lemons and put in the bottom of your rubbish bin to take away  the nasty odours.
  7. Hair Lightener – Lemons are a chemical  free natural highlighter for the hair (hmm not sure i’m brave enough to try this one).

I would love to hear if you have any other uses for the humble lemon, so leave a comment.

Sarah x

2 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Lemons

  1. If you use the zest of a lemon and sprinkle it in your Yukka plant it will stop your kitten using it as a climbing frame 🙂 I have photo evidence of said act…

Leave a Reply

